Art and Art Books on St. Francis

Art and Art Books on St. Francis
Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Dear Friends of St Francis:

As a member of the Franciscan Renewal Center I am excited about the December 5th event and would like to tell you about our project at the ASU Hispanic Research Center, with which the FRC collaborates: St. Francis and the Americas.  This project maintains a website that is totally free and has several thousand works of art related to St. Francis, St. Anthony, St. Bonaventure and many other Franciscans.

About St. Francis and the Americas

Home page: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/

Mission: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/project

Gallery of art: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/gallery

Just a few of the artists!

Giovanni Bellini: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/giovanni-bellini

Caravaggio: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/caravaggio

Carducho: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/carducho

Giotto: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/giotto

Cimabue: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/cimabue#overlay-context=gallery/cenni-di-pepo-detta-cimabue-san-francesco

Jan van Eyck: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/jan-van-eyck

Orazio Gentileschi: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/orazio-lomi-gentileschi-0

Domenico Ghirlandaio: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/domenico-ghirlandaio

El Greco: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/el-greco

Simone Martini: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/simone-martini

Bartolomé Esteban Murillo: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/bartolomé-esteban-murillo

Pietro Perugino: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/pietro-perugino

Jusepe de Ribera: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/jusepe-de-ribera

Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/rembrandt-harmenszoon-van-rijn

Guido Reni: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/guido-reni

Peter Paul Rubens: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/peter-paul-rubens

Sassetta: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/sassetta

Paolo Uccello: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/paolo-uccello

Francisco de Zurbarán: http://stfrancis.clas.asu.edu/artist/francisco-de-zurbar%C3%A1n

Peace and Good,

Gary Francisco Keller

If you have any difficulties, email me at: gary.keller@asu.edu

 

More Franciscan Art

The Bilingual Press at the ASU Hispanic Research Center has published an important book, Bird Man of Assisi: Art and the Apocalyptic in the Colonial Andes  by ASU Professor Jaime Lara, with almost 200 full-color images of relevant art, most of them not well known.  This is from the electronic catalog of the Bilingual Press:

Home Page: http://bilingualpress.clas.asu.edu/
Birdman of Assisi: http://bilingualpress.clas.asu.edu/book/birdman-assisi

 

Birdman of Assisi: Art and the in the Colonial Andes

Author: Jaime Lara

Description

Birdman of Assisi: Art and the Apocalyptic in the Colonial Andes explores the reception of Saint Francis of Assisi and angels in the colonized Inca Empire. It examines images and beliefs related to birdmen among the Incas and other peoples of the Andes and how these were transformed in the colonial era by Christian missionaries. The author brings to light previously unknown images of Saint Francis with wings, flying through the air as a militant angel of the Apocalypse battling archfiends, rival religious orders, secular clergy, and even bishops. A key player in this transformation of the "little poor man" was the medieval prophet Joachim of Fiore and the influence that his eschatological prophecies had on the spiritual sons of Francis, especially in the new world. Although commissioned by the Francsican friars, the Andean paintings and sculptures were executed by native artists with native sensibilities that critique colonial society and reveal an approaching end of the world and a controversial, even violent, role for Francis of Assisi at a final cosmic battle. In colonial Mexico the author discovers a similar situation but with different artistic solutions. Birdman of Assisi documents how a beloved medieval saint gained a new following among Incas and other native peoples of the Americas and how he continues to resonate with the diverse Andean population, both Quechua and Spanish speaking, to this day.

Birdman of Assisi is copublished by Bilingual Press and Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies.

 

Formats

Retail Price

Sale Price

ISBN #

Add to Cart

Paper

$79.95

--

978-0-86698-529-1

Add

About the Author

Jaime Lara is currently a research professor in the Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies (ACMRS) and the Hispanic Research Center, both at Arizona State University. He had been a John Simon Guggenheim Senior Fellow and a Kress Fellow in the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts at the National Gallery of Art. He has taught at Yale University, the University of Notre Dame, and Northwestern University and has published City, Temple, Stage: Eschatological Architecture and Liturgical Theatrics in New Spain (2004), Christian Texts for Aztecs: Art and Liturgy in Colonial Mexico (2008), and with photographer Robert Lisak, The Flowering Cross: Holy Week in an Andean Village (2010).